• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New from Garden City, Kansas

USMC 00-08

Hello all! I am new to all of this. I checked out this site before joining and am very impressed.

I am an 8 year veteran of the USMC and served as and infantryman with several MOS in the infantry field.

I recently came into possession of a 1953 GMC M135 and am really looking forward to restoring it. The truck was given to me so I suppose I can afford to put some money into it. I don't have any knowledge about this, so I will be trying to learn as much as I can from all of you so that this restoration is done properly and correctly.

desertfox

Welcome to the site.
Yes pics would be nice. What does the truck require?
There is a 135 or 211 sitting in a local boneyard complete with winch. The truck as a whole is not in good shape but may have some salvageable parts. I may have some photos somewhere. Took them while collecting a 47 Buick sitting next to the truck.

USMC 00-08

Welcome to the site.
Yes pics would be nice. What does the truck require?
There is a 135 or 211 sitting in a local boneyard complete with winch. The truck as a whole is not in good shape but may have some salvageable parts. I may have some photos somewhere. Took them while collecting a 47 Buick sitting next to the truck.
I appologize about no pics. I thought I had them on the computer but they have vanished. Will have to go where I have the truck parked and take more pics.

The truck is all orange as it was used by the forestry service. It had been parked for 20 years but checked it over, put batteries etc. and it started right up! All the gauges looked good. I drove it a short distance to see if it would and it would not shift out of first gear. Maybe linkage?