• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Replacing broken glow plugs and injectors

Nate475

Just before Christmas my M1009 would no longer start in cold weather so I ordered a set of glow plugs. Then to my surprise 6 out of 8 glow plug tips broke off when I took them out. The only good thing about this is that the tips didn't just swell requiring a glow plug removal tool, instead they disintegrated into a black carbon like substance, lol making them easy to remove. I'm not a mechanic and I have no garage so because of the weather it took me two solid months to get it fixed. So for those of you who have or will have this problem, here's what you have to do.

The glow plugs angle upwards underneath the fuel injectors. The tip of each plug is positioned in front of the fuel ejector nozzle inside the pre-combustion chamber for each cylinder. When the tips break off you have to remove everything but the injection pump on top of the motor in order to get your injectors out to clean the chambers out. And it goes a little like this:

1. Take out your rear battery and disconnect your battery cables. You will need the rear battery tray empty to support your aching body on and for added clearance for wrenches.
2. Remove your air cleaner assembly.
3. Remove the CDR valve with the bracket attached and all the CDR hoses and set them aside.
4. Next remove the drivers side alternator bracket extension that goes from the alternator bracket to the intake manifold stud.